Colorado takes all cases of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) or driving with ability impaired (DWAI) very seriously, and this is even more true if there is a child under 16 in the car. Driving under the influence with any child under 16 in your car, not just your own children, is considered child abuse in Colorado. If you have been charged with DUI or DWAI and now find yourself faced with child abuse charges on top of that, you are probably upset and scared about what might happen as a result of your mistake.
The good news is that you don’t have to figure all of this out or go through it all alone. The experienced criminal defense attorneys at our law firm have the knowledge, the skill, and the compassion to stand by you as you face charges of DUI with a child in the car. Call our Colorado Springs office today at 719-496-2177 and let one of our skilled DUI lawyers help you through this difficult time.
What Are the Possible Consequences of DUI or DWAI with a Child in the Car in Colorado?
What penalties you might face as a result of a DUI or DWAI charge with a child in the car depending on whether or not the child was injured or died as a result of your impaired driving. If the child was not injured in any way, having that child in the car during your DUI or DWAI will be classified as a child abuse misdemeanor, and penalties for that will be on top of whatever penalties you receive for the DUI or DWAI charge. The consequences of a Colorado misdemeanor child abuse conviction may include 3 months -1 year in jail, and/or
A fine of up to $1,000. Whether or at what level these penalties are assigned will depend on the specific details of your case.
What if a Child in My Car is Injured or Dies during My DUI or DWAI?
If a child is injured or dies in your car while you are driving drunk or drugged, your child abuse charge will be raised to a felony, in addition to whatever you are facing for the DUI or DWAI charges. If you were found to have acted recklessly, the felony charge will be escalated to a more serious level. The consequences of these offenses can be life-altering. You need the help and support of an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side supporting you and planning a solid defense to your charges, whether felonies or misdemeanors. Call our law firm today for a free consultation, and get the help and legal counsel that you need.
Why is a Criminal Defense Law Firm My Best Choice?
Our principal attorney, Austin Lux, worked as a prosecutor before turning his focus to criminal defense. His insider knowledge of the way prosecutors think gives his clients the edge as they defend themselves in court. Reach out to our law firm today by calling 719-496-2177 to learn more about how we can help you. You don’t have to do it alone.