What Are the Costs Associated with a DUI?

A DUI conviction in the United States is expensive, given the penalties, hiked insurance rates, and court fees associated with the charges. The actual figures vary from state to state depending on the circumstances of the DUI charges.

As a general estimation of the expenses you can incur, skilled criminal defense lawyers in Colorado provide a list of costs you can expect:

  • Bail from jail costs
  • Car towing or impound fees
  • Attorney fees
  • Fines in penalties
  • Screening services
  • Community service supervision fees
  • Substance abuse educational class fees
  • Ignition interlock device costs
  • License reinstatement fees

Based on this list, a DUI offense can cost you several thousand dollars when the tally is complete. Your best bet to avoid these expenses is to avoid a DUI charge, as driving under the influence is illegal. However, if you ever find yourself on the wrong side of the law, contact a skilled Colorado Springs DUI lawyer for legal counsel.

What Are the Criminal Fines for a Colorado DUI Conviction?

The fines imposed by Colorado courts upon a DUI conviction depend on the specific offense and your prior DUI record

First DUI Offense

The fines for a first DUI offense in Colorado are:

  • $600 to $1,5000
  • Additional court fees of about $50
  • Probationary service fees ranging between $600 and $1,200
  • BAC testing fees of between $30 and $150
  • Court fees that range from $125 to $175
  • License reinstatement fees of $95
  • Vehicle towing- $175
  • Detox in jail fees of $300
  • Ignition interlock device and rental service- $2,170
  • An insurance rate increase in the range of $3,600
  • A community supervision fee of $60
  • Victim Impact Panel Program fees of $50
  • Instruction permit costs of $16

This is not an exhaustive list of the costs associated with a DUI. Each case is different, and the expenses will depend on the circumstances of the conviction and other mitigating factors. On average, you may spend approximately $13,530, including the legal fees you pay to your Colorado Springs DUI lawyer for legal representation.

Second DUI in Colorado

Second-time DUI offenses are not treated lightly in Colorado, and you will face harsher penalties and possible life-long consequences. With a first-time DUI conviction, jail time is possible and mandatory with a second-time DUI. The charge is considered a misdemeanor but can be a felony if it entails bodily injury or causes someone else’s death.

In addition to the fines associated with a first-time DUI, you also risk the following penalties if convicted of a DUI the second time:

  • Jail time of a minimum of 10 days up to one year
  • License revocation if you receive a second conviction within five years of the first one
  • Ignition installation device that you can apply for one month after the license revocation period. You must hold the license for 2-5 years before applying for any other type of license.
  • Probation and alcohol monitoring
  • Public service for $120
  • Alcohol and Drug Treatment and Evaluation

A second DUI conviction earns you the classification of a persistent drunk driver. If you injure someone or cause their death, you will face even more severe consequences as follows:

  • Fines of up to $500,000 and 2-6 years in prison if you cause bodily injury
  • Penalties of up to $750,0000 and 4-12 years’ imprisonment if the DUI charges involve the death of another person

Consider having an aggressive DUI lawyer in Colorado Springs to help you fight the charges. Their skills and understanding of the legal system can help you navigate the complex DUI laws to protect your rights and future.

Third DUI Offense

If charged with a third DUI, you can expect to face felony-level penalties:

  • Fines of between $2,000 and $500,000
  • An automatic mandatory jail term of 60 days
  • 48 to 120 hours of community service
  • License suspension for 24 months
  • You must carry the persistent drunk driver (PDD) label from the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles. This requires you to complete a level II alcohol education and treatment course.
  • SR-22 insurance that you must carry for at least two years

If you’re facing a third DUI charge in Colorado, hiring an aggressive DUI lawyer in Colorado Springs can significantly enhance your chances of having the charges dropped or reduced.

What is the Cost of DUI School?

If your penalties include the requirement to complete DUI school, you must meet the costs of the course. The prices vary depending on the specific class and provider.

Generally, the costs are as follows:

  • $200 for Level I Education
  • $360 for Level II Education
  • $630 for Level II Therapy, Track A
  • $780 for Track B Level II Therapy
  • $1,020 for Track C Level II Therapy
  • $1,290 for Track D Level II Therapy

Indirect Costs of a DUI Conviction in Colorado

Apart from these direct costs, a DUI may also attract several other indirect costs and have dramatic financial implications that may not have crossed your mind:

  • Lost wages if you get fired
  • Lost wages from missing work to attend court sessions or while in jail
  • Public transportation costs while your license is suspended
  • The inability to get a professional license disqualifies you from job opportunities
  • You may be forced to go into debt to cover the DUI costs, affecting your creditworthiness in the future.
  • Non-financial costs like ruined reputation, strained relationships, lost time, and loss of your sense of independence

An Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Helping You Minimize the Cost of a DUI

A DUI arrest and conviction can be costly, whether it’s the first or subsequent time. You could spend more than $12,000 to cover all the expenses. Your best bet to minimize the costs is to have the penalties reduced, or the charges dropped altogether. An experienced criminal defense attorney in Colorado can help you in this legal battle.

The Lux Law Firm hosts aggressive DUI lawyers who can make a difference in your case. We can help you build a strong defense and aggressively fight for your rights under the criminal justice system. Talk to us at 719-451-7469 for legal guidance.