Possessing less than 4 grams of ecstasy (MDMA) is a Level 1 misdemeanor in Colorado while using or ingesting Ecstasy is a Level 2 drug misdemeanor. Possessing more than 4 grams of ecstasy or selling, making, or dispensing ecstasy are all felonies of varying levels. What penalties you might face as a result of any of these offenses depends on a variety of factors including the amount of the drug involved and your past record of drug offenses, or lack of one. Colorado has taken the stance that rehabilitation and treatment are preferable to punishment when possible and appropriate, so you may be put into a diversion or court-approved treatment program as an alternative to jail time and fines unless aggravating factors exist such as multiple repeat offenses or large quantities. Figuring out what might happen as a result of your ecstasy charges can be confusing and upsetting. The experienced criminal defense attorneys at our law firm can help you sort it all out and put together a solid defense against your charges. Call our Colorado Springs office today at 719-451-7469 to let one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys help you to build the strongest defense possible.
Are there Any Common Defenses Against Ecstasy Charges?
Common defenses against ecstasy charges can involve improper police conduct, such as illegal search and seizure, entrapment, coercion, or violation of civil rights. In other cases, it may be possible to argue that the ecstasy was owned or possessed by someone other than the defendant. If the defendant has been charged with a criminal felony, it may be possible to get the charge reduced to a simple possession charge if it can be shown that the ecstasy was intended solely for recreational use.
What are the Possible Penalties for LSD Conviction in Colorado?
Colorado drug laws recently changed to make possession of small amounts of even Schedule 1 drug misdemeanors, rather than felonies. Therefore, a first-time offender in possession of fewer than 4 grams of ecstasy will likely face as little as 2 years of probation or 180 days in jail or as much as 18 months in county jail, and fines ranging from zero to $1,000. For repeat offenders, the penalties increase. If you are in possession of more than 4 grams of ecstasy or are accused of distribution, you may be charged with a felony and face possible penalties of 2-32 years in prison and $2,000-$1million in fines, depending on the specific details of your case.
Do I Need to Hire an Attorney?
The United States criminal justice system is complicated and not easy to navigate. Without access to the education and experience that a licensed attorney holds, it is almost impossible to get a favorable result in a criminal case. The experienced criminal defense lawyers at our law firm understand the law and how to best use it to defend our clients. Call us today at 719-451-7469 for a free consultation.