Author Photo
Written by: Austin Lux
| Read Time: 2 minutes

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol results in thousands of traffic fatalities every year.

In an attempt to limit the practice, Colorado criminal statutes impose significant penalties on drivers convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while ability impaired (DWAI).

Colorado DUI laws impose even harsher penalties for your 3rd offense.

If charged with your 3rd DUI in Colorado, you could face extremely harsh penalties. With so much at stake, you need an experienced DUI attorney to help you navigate the intricacies of the criminal justice system.

Attorney Austin M. Lux with the Lux Law Firm has extensive experience representing and helping motorists charged under Colorado’s DUI laws. Contact us today for assistance with your DUI.

Colorado DUI Laws: A 3rd Offense

Colorado prohibits motorists from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Colorado considers “under the influence” to include when: 

  • The driver’s ability to drive safely is substantially impaired by drugs or alcohol; or
  • The driver has a blood-alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. 

While the misconduct is the same, Colorado enhances the penalties imposed on a person who is convicted of DUI for the 3rd time.

When counting up prior convictions, remember that all of the following crimes count as priors:

  • DUI,
  • DUI per se,
  • DWAI, 
  • Vehicular assault DUI, or
  • Vehicular homicide DUI.

Colorado doesn’t have a “lookback period.” This means that the prior convictions on your record last forever for the purposes of determining what penalty is appropriate.

Additionally, remember that a prior DUI conviction from any state, not just Colorado, counts as a prior conviction.

3rd DUI Penalties in Colorado

Like a 1st and 2nd DUI conviction, a 3rd DUI conviction amounts to a misdemeanor. However, the state punishes third-time offenders more severely than first-time or second-time offenders.

For a 3rd DUI conviction, the potential penalties include:

  • Mandatory jail sentence of at least 60 days, but up to one year;
  • A fine of up to $1,500;
  • Two years of driver’s license revocation;
  • Up to 120 hours of community service;
  • Up to four years on probation; and
  • Mandatory participation in alcohol education classes.

The primary difference between your 3rd DUI conviction and the two prior ones involves the amount of time you’ll spend in jail. In addition to the criminal penalties, a DUI conviction can wreak havoc on other aspects of your life.

For example, motorists with a DUI conviction can face significantly higher insurance premiums. Additionally, you could encounter difficulty obtaining employment after disclosing your DUI convictions to potential employers. 

Contact an Experienced DUI Lawyer at The Lux Law Firm

In many scenarios, having your charges dismissed or accepting a plea bargain for your 3rd DUI offers the best opportunity to avoid any time in jail.

The best way to obtain a favorable plea bargain or dismissal involves hiring an experienced DUI attorney to represent you.

Attorney Austin Lux began his legal career as a Deputy District Attorney, responsible for prosecuting criminal cases and delivering training to local law enforcement.

After learning what it takes to prosecute a case, Austin transitioned to private practice to advocate for the rights of individual clients facing criminal charges.

His experience as a prosecutor gives Austin unique insight on which strategies work best for defending all criminal cases, including DUIs.

Contact our office today to get started on your DUI case.

    • Take the First Step Towards Securing Your Future * Required Fields
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.